Zuri Foundation Recognizes 11 Outstanding Women At The 8th Zuri Awards

Written by on March 9, 2024

The Zuri Foundation has announced the recipients of the highly anticipated 2024 Zuri Awards, celebrating the exceptional achievements of unsung women ahead of International Women’s Day.

Norah Muthoni Mumo, Chief Executive of the Zuri Foundation, highlighted the objective of the awards, is to recognize, celebrate and support unsung exceptional women who are dedicated to creating positive change through work in their communities while inspiring others through exceptional displays of leadership; rising against all odds and being courageous in the face of adversity.

She envisions a gender-equal and inclusive world where differences are valued and celebrated.

“Zuri Awards’ objectives align with the 5th Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) on Gender Equality. This year marks the 8th edition of the Zuri Awards, a testament to our commitment to recognizing these unsung heros,” said Mumo.

Nominated Senator Gloria Orwoba, representing Hon. Aisha Jumwa Katana, Cabinet Secretary of the Ministry of Gender, Culture, The Arts, and Heritage, commended the initiative.

She stressed the importance of platforms like the Zuri Awards in highlighting and rewarding women’s contributions towards the gender agenda.

“Women are powerful contributors to our nation’s economy, driving growth, innovation, and job creation. Their influence extends to education and nurturing the minds of the future,” said Senator Orwoba.

Beatrice Malika, founder of Glory Christian Education and Rescue Centre and a previous beneficiary of the Zuri Awards, expressed gratitude for the Foundation’s support.

“The Zuri Awards have been a blessing to the work we do at Glory Christian Centre. Through the Foundation’s network, we have been connected to various platforms that have directly benefited the children at the center through donations and empowerment opportunities,” said Malika

The Senate passed a bill today on the care and protection of child parents, reflecting the government’s commitment to addressing critical issues affecting women and children.

Dr. Stephen Jackson, Resident Coordinator of United Nations Women, emphasized the importance of supporting women’s leadership for national development.

“As we celebrate these winners, we need to focus on empowering women’s leadership,” said Dr. Jackson.

During the event, Grace Nyokabi of The Soil Inventory was awarded for excellence in Agriculture, while Matrid James’s Dada Trust received recognition for Arts, Culture, and Entertainment. Other honorees include Pwani Animal Welfare CBO’s Nusrat Mohammed for Education, Femmegreen’s Angela Wawire for Environmental Sustainability, and Stand Out for Mental Health’s Christine Miloyo for Healthcare.

In addition, Together As One Kithirune’s Doreen Kajuju was recognized for Humanitarian efforts, Kaya Nut’s Miswaleh Zingizi for Manufacturing, The Outreach And Resource Base For HIV Awareness’s Olive Wambui for Public Service, and Shine on Solar Solution’s Leah Wairimu for Renewable Energy. Codeyetu’s Asha Panyako was honored for excellence in STEM, and Asisa Limited’s Sheryl Mboya received the Young Achiever award.

This year’s event brought together government representatives, developmental partners, stakeholders, and advocates to celebrate the achievements of women and explore opportunities for collaboration and impact.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SKY 106.1 FM

Mil Polo

Current track